Norma Carter Murphy remains an active member of the chapter.  Ida Smith Franks had the distinction of remaining an active member of New Bern Alumnae from the time the chapter was chartered until her death November 5, 2016. In 1952, Frances W. Moore contacted Delta Sigma Theta National Headquarters to obtain the requirements for establishing a local chapter.  A subsequent search of the surrounding counties resulted in the location of nine sorors, a sufficient number at that time to create a new alumnae chapter.    After approximately one year of preparation, on Saturday, February 28, 1953, Delta Chi Sigma Chapter was chartered. As the South Atlantic Region was not to be established until 1960, officiating the chartering ceremony was Eastern Regional Director Pauline F. Weeden of Virginia.  Assisting her were Dr. Helen G. Edmonds, Professor of History at NC College (now NC Central University) and Soror Jennie D. Taylor of Durham, NC, who later became Eastern Regional Director.  Accompanying them were Sorors Susan Faine, Secretary to the Regional Director, and Mae D. Holmes, Superintendent of the Girls Training School of Kinston, NC, later to become Dobbs School.  Delta Chi Sigma was the first Greek-letter chapter organized in Craven County.  In 1958, the chapter name was changed to New Bern Alumnae.  The chapter presently serves the counties of Carteret, Craven, Jones, and Pamlico.
New Bern Alumnae Chapter History
To read more about the history of New Bern Alumnae, go to our chapter history by clicking on the below image.
Front row (l-r):  Susan Faine (visitor), Lottie M. Blair (Treasurer), Jeannette S. Hayes (Recording Secretary), Naomi W. Ryder (Parliamentarian).  Second row (l-r): Polly O. Richards (Sergeant at Arms), Jennie D. Taylor (visitor), Pauline Weeden (Director of Eastern Region), Frances W. Moore (President), Norma C. Murphy (Dean of Pledges).  Third row (l-r): Ida S. Franks (Chaplain), Annie S. Donaldson (Vice President), Dr. Helen G. Edmonds (visitor), Alease Massenberg (Corresponding Secretary).
Mary Collins Dove (1981) Ethel M. Lewis (1988 Cherry Carter (1989) Frances W. Moore* (1990) Ruth B. Houston (1991) Arletha S. Wynn (1992) Beulah Mae Smith (1999) Eliza M. Dudley (1999) Ethel Robinson (2000)
Norma Carter Murphy

© This site is the sole property of the New Bern Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. .  All rights reserved. 

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Ida Smith Franks
New Bern Alumnae 50th Anniversary 2003
Omega Omega
Gertrude D. Adkins (2003) Naomi W. Ryder* (2004) Annie S. Donaldson* (2008) Jeannette S. Hayes* (2008) Mildred Grant-Davis (2009) Polly O. Richards* (2014) Lottie Blair Kee* (2016) Ida Smith Franks* (2016) Alease Massenberg*
* Charter Member